A Different Type of Thanksgiving

img_6213

A gorgeous sunset on Hilton Head Island by the lighthouse

I had the opportunity to do something different this Thanksgiving which was a relief but at the same time, a little stressful.  For many years my family would travel to my husband’s family as a Thanksgiving tradition.  The past couple of years I’ve spend it in Keystone, CO with my parents, my children (or some of them at least), and my fur boys. This year my parents were driving to Hilton Head Island, SC to visit my brother and his family and had invited my eldest son and to fly in later and join them.  Well, my son didn’t want to lose out on work money (I don’t blame him! As a server in an incredibly busy restaurant, it would make sense to earn beaucoup $!) and, unbeknownst to me, his father had asked him over for the holiday since he already had his brother and sister . He had accepted, not knowing that I hadn’t made any plans as I refused to leave him alone on Thanksgiving Day. Hmm, communication problems?! Yep, I believe so! Argh. ..  Well, now that these other plans were in place, that now meant that I’d be alone on Thanksgiving.

Parents to the rescue! I still managed to book a flight and although my heart hurt being away from my children and things that they had to deal with by being with their dad, I got to visit with my brother and his family in a state they’ve called their home for four years that I’d never seen before, run in a 10K race with a new PR, run on the beach, see some humongous alligators, and make some new memories. I was certainly blessed to have had this opportunity!

20161124_094217.jpg

Thanksgiving Day Race – 5K and 10K participants!

20161125_100651

Mandatory beach run selfie! If I hadn’t have been on a time crunch, I’d have been out there for HOURS!

IMG_6182.JPG

Group shot on the beach following our Thanksgiving meal. It was a beautiful day!

IMG_6169.JPG

My brother and I – we’re only a year and 17 days apart and were very close growing up. Not so much now 😦

IMG_6151.JPG

Easily 12-14 feet long. Gulp! Glad they were on the other side of the water!

img_6227

My new beau (ha!ha!) – and my Dad photobombing in the background (he was actually keeping the nutcracker’s mouth closed!). I love Christmas lights. . .

20161125_095447.jpg

Isn’t this a beautiful walkway to the beach? 

20161126_092247

My Dad and I – one last look at the beach before I headed home. 

thanksgiving

One response to “A Different Type of Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

