The Finishing Touches

Finding the right things to finish a room can be challenging. I search through Pinterest, or I may have an idea of what might look good, but I’m not one to rush out and get whatever just to finish it off. I watch for sales and do thrift and garage sale shopping. The Grand Room is an example of this as I finally got the curtains I wanted at the end of last year!

I showed you a couple of pictures I loved when we first finished the room, and I couldn’t help myself when I found a couple more of the same style at Hobby Lobby. They’re so cute! As a teacher, I definitely couldn’t pass up on the stack of books with the dogs! We added some decor above the bed, although I’d still like an actual headboard. There’s nothing wrong with what we’ve got right now, though, so I can wait for something that will work out or make a headboard to go with what we’ve got. No rush on that project! I had a frame that my daughter didn’t want anymore and decided to put pictures of the grandkids and us on our adventures. This past Mother’s Day, my bonus daughter gave me a painted picture with the handprint of one granddaughter (signed!) and a footprint of the other which I just framed. I used some scrapbooking paper that I already had behind it and put it in a simple black 8 x 10 frame that I also already had.

Since we have 1 grandson and 2 granddaughters, I wanted to do something more neutral in gender for the bedding. Fortunately, when my mother and I were out shopping and I was looking for something denim, she mentioned that she had a duvet cover from a previous bedroom that wasn’t being used. All of the grandkids love playing with the train table that my Dad built for my son many years ago when he was into Thomas the Tank Engine, and under it are two-wheeled baskets that hold train pieces and Hot Wheels, another set of toys from the past. We found a like-new car garage with ramps at a garage sale for $5 (not shown) that works wonderfully with these cars.

Other items shown in the below picture: the side table is from a nesting set of tables that were given to us; the black stool ($4.99) and rug (I paid less than $7.99) were from IKEA; the red plastic chair was from a garage sale ($2); the blanket at the end of the bed used to be my daughter’s; the room-darkening curtains were from Amazon. Due to the size of the window, I had to order 2 sets of panels to cover the width and I added the rings to bring them down a little further after having installed the curtain rod, also from IKEA. We bought the 4 cube shelving from Target (similar to this although not at that price!). The measuring chart was an item from Etsy that my bonus daughter wanted for her little one but it came with a dent in it. We got to keep the damaged one and she got the new one. Bonus! Now we can track the height of all of our grands on this! The books are mainly ones from my children with a handful of new ones.

There you have it! I’ve just received some vinyl names of our grands to put on the walls with the animal pictures. There are still a couple of things that I need to do – the blinds are damaged and won’t open properly anymore without pulling the whole thing up, and the fan/light is still the original, although it does work. The grands love coming over and head straight to their room to play!

One response to “The Finishing Touches

  1. Wow, this blog post on The Finishing Touches is absolutely amazing! I love how it provides such helpful and practical tips. It’s just what I needed to add that extra sparkle to my projects. Thank you for sharing this valuable information!
    I will follow and give a like! My Blog about DIY, check it out here dental-rotors.com

Leave a comment